Skip to main content

2022年教資會傑出教學獎

1

接受申請/提名

2022年01月20日 - 2022年04月29日

2

遴選階段

2022年05月03日 - 2022年09月25日

3

公佈得獎

2022年09月26日

2022 年教資會傑出教學獎頒獎典禮

大學教育資助委員會(教資會)今日(九月二十六日)舉行二○二二年教資會傑出教學獎頒獎典禮,表揚教資會資助大學學者的優秀教學表現和成就,以及他們在校園內外展現的領導才幹和對提升教與學質素所作的學術貢獻。

2022 年教資會傑出教學獎頒獎典禮

2022年教資會傑出教學獎得獎者

2022 教資會傑出教學獎

(一般教學人員組別)

蘇文藻教授

香港中文大學


蘇文藻教授自2007年加入香港中文大學,一直勤教親仁、銳意創新、熱忱洋溢,是位實至名歸的傑出教育工作者。他堅信每名學生各具獨特潛能,尤其重視學生的個人成長及青年發展。蘇教授帶頭提升課程設計,並建立教師協作學習網絡,以切合青少年學生在成長路途上的需要。 蘇教授致力提倡跨學科學習,熱衷在其教學中建立工程與人文學科的聯繫。他自2019年起出任書院通識教育課程講師,向學生講授人工智能涉及的倫理問題。他更開創先河,特別為工科生在本科課程中開設專門寫作單元。蘇教授循循善誘,誨人不倦,啟迪莘莘學子開拓潛能,深受學生敬重。他不僅對大學影響深遠,更不遺餘力,向中學生推廣STEM教育,為社會培育未來創科發展人才。蘇教授孜孜不倦,積極提倡學生為本教學,追求卓越,多年來獲香港中文大學及學院頒授無數獎項,備受稱許。

查看更多

2022 教資會傑出教學獎

(新晉教學人員組別)

Tulio MAXIMO博士

香港理工大學


受到兒時被診斷患有專注力不足/過度活躍症的經歷所啟發,Tulio Maximo博士立志成為一位與別不同的老師,推廣理想中的學習經歷。在其四年的教學生涯,Maximo博士本着助人為本的強大信念,作出了多項重要的貢獻,也實踐了其個人抱負。他將融合性設計概念納入設計課程之中,以推廣多元、公正和包容的價值,並創作了新科目「Design Meets Disabilities」。Maximo博士亦積極與不同的非政府組織合作,使學生能夠參與多個社區項目,同時運用同理心方法引導學生對使用者的需要產生個人化的理解,從而為殘疾人士設計出更切合其需要的產品。 他致力建立學生為本的學習環境,使每位學生得以盡情發展、應用及展示自己的設計和思考能力。Maximo博士的教導對學生的學習和個人發展有正面且深遠的影響。他在推動融合教育所展現的熱誠及貢獻,實在值得支持和認可。

查看更多

2022教資會傑出教學獎

(協作團隊組別)

「跨學科英語課程」團隊

「跨學科英語課程」團隊由香港理工大學陳小華博士領導,隊員包括林玉雲博士(香港理工大學)、陳美斯女士(香港城市大學)、文靜嫻女士(香港浸會大學)及曾淑貞博士(香港科技大學)。過去八年,團隊為發展學生的學術語文識能制定了多種嶄新而有效的策略,當中包括運用多模式跨學科英語課程資源,以及開發手機應用程式「Capstone Ninja」。團隊成功建立有助促進學生為本及跨學科合作的文化,惠及多所教資會資助大學的英語教師、學科教師和學生,並對學生的英語能力和學習經歷,以及來自各大學的參與教師的教學才能和教學策略帶來重大的正面影響。 團隊高瞻遠矚,為改善學生的語文學習,以清晰的願景及決心應對教育上的複雜挑戰,堪稱卓越教學的模範。團隊採用具前瞻性的方式,轉化願景為目標明確的使命,為提升學生為本的教學提供可行策略。團隊展現對持續專業發展的堅定承諾,並積極參與有關教與學的學術研究,分享其工作經驗和成果。

陳小華博士、林玉雲博士、陳美斯女士、文靜嫻女士及曾淑貞博士

提名2022年教資會傑出教學獎

教資會傑出教學獎設有三個組別,分別為:(1)一般教學人員組別(只限個人參與);(2)新晉教學人員組別(只限個人參與);以及(3)協作團隊組別。每屆傑出教學獎最多頒發三個獎項,而遴選委員會保留頒發少於三個獎項的權利。每個組別的得獎者不多於一個。

 

每所教資會資助大學可提交總數不多於三個的提名;而在每個獎項組別下,每所大學只可提交一個提名。每位被提名人只可競逐其中一個組別的獎項及只可被一所大學提名。

傑出教學獎並非為特定學科而設,即大學可提名來自任何學科的人員/隊伍參加;惟過去五年內曾以個人身分或隊伍隊長/成員身分獲得此獎項者,不可再獲提名。

 

(1)一般教學人員組別

被提名人須為全職人員(不包括訪問學者),其教學職責主要是教授教資會資助課程(即按時數計算,所教授的課程大部分為教資會資助課程)。

 

(2)新晉教學人員組別

被提名人須於直至提名截止日期當天,在高等教育院校的教學經驗不得超過六年。教學年資按學期計算,無須連續。被提名人須為全職人員(不包括訪問學者),其教學職責主要是教授教資會資助課程。

 

(3)協作團隊組別

獲提名的團隊應為跨學科(即團隊是由同一所教資會資助大學並多於一個學系的成員組成)及/或跨院校(即團隊是由多於一所教資會資助大學的成員組成)隊伍。如團隊是由同一所教資會資助大學的同一個學系成員所組成,若其教學法具有應用於跨學科及跨院校的龐大潛力,亦可被提名。每隊被提名隊伍最多可由五名成員組成,並須指定其中一名成員為隊長。如團隊成員來自多於一所教資會資助大學組成,該提名將會被視為由隊長所屬大學所提交。每隊被提名隊伍須包括最少一名全職教學人員(不包括訪問學者),其教學職責主要是教授教資會資助課程。此外,隊員亦可包括其他以全職或兼職形式聘用的學術及/或支援人員(包括教學助理)。

遴選委員會將根據以下三項準則進行評審:

 

(a) 採用以學習者為本的教學方式,引導學生參與學習/激發學生學習興趣/為學生帶來正面影響,以及展現卓越的教學能力,包括對教學方法有充分認識;明白學生如何學習並採用合適的教學和評核方法,從而達至更佳的學生學習果效;能與學生互動交流,並推動他們積極學習;因應學生不同的學習需要,予以啓發和支援,協助他們建立自信和能力(包括批判性思考、分析技巧和價值觀等);以及在課堂教學表現卓越(包括面授、虛擬和混合環境)。

 

(b) 對所屬範疇有深厚認識,並體現於科目/學科/課程設計,包括在院校、跨院校或教資會界別層面上,在課程和學生學習資源(例如課本、電子學習資源)的設計方面,顯示具備有關學科的最新知識,並採用各項以研究為主導的教學方式,達至相輔相成之效;以及制訂合適的學生學習果效並採用創新的教學和評核方法,以協助學生達到預期的學習果效等。

 

(c) 在教學方面的往績、當今成就和領導才幹;以及日後可在其大學及/或其他院校就推動良好教學方法所作出的學術貢獻和影響,包括在相關學科參與教學研究及採用創新教學方法;以及於所屬及其他學科及/或大學推動優質教學時能展現領導才幹及以證據為基礎的影響。如被提名人為新晉教學人員,委員會進行評審時,將着重考慮其在教學方面是否具備領導潛能及其往績;至於獲提名的隊伍,委員會則會同時考慮團隊成員各自的貢獻,以及該隊伍於院校內、跨院校或整個界別合作推動良好教學方法所帶來的影響規模及複雜性。

上述三項準則沒有特定比重。遴選委員會將按照這些準則,考慮每項提名。
 

各項提名由遴選委員會負責審議,委員會將會由以下人士組成:

 

(i) 一名主席(須為教資會/質保局委員)
(ii) 一名教資會/質保局的學術界委員
(iii) 一名教資會/質保局的業外委員
(iv) 一名教資會傑出教學奬前得獎者
(v) 一名外聘國際專家

 

委員會將根據大學提交的提名文件進行評審,初步選出若干被提名人/隊伍進入決賽,決賽入圍者將獲邀參加面試。

 

得獎者和決賽入圍者(即入圍參加遴選面試,但未能獲獎的被提名人)的名單,將於2022年的頒獎典禮上和教資會發出的新聞稿內公布。
 

得獎者的義務

 

得獎者將成為所屬大學及整個教資會界別的「傑出教學大使」,並將獲邀在2022年9月/10月舉行的教資會傑出教學獎頒獎典禮,以及教資會為宣揚得獎者貢獻與成就而製作的短片等場合中,講述他們的教學理念和分享經驗。

 

得獎者亦將被邀請參與香港高等教育卓越教學聯盟(高卓聯)的活動。高卓聯在教資會的撥款支持下成立,旨在建立一個網絡讓教資會傑出教學獎同仁於教資會界別內外共同持續推廣卓越教學。

 

大學須就每項提名提交填妥的提名表格以及相關文件,詳情請參閱 https://www.ugc.edu.hk/doc/big5/qac/teach/UGC_Teaching_Award_Guidelines.pdf.

香港高等教育卓越教學聯盟

香港高等教育卓越教學聯盟

為進一步強調優質教學的重要性和提升教資會傑出教學獎的影響力,教資會於2019年倡議成立香港高等教育卓越教學聯盟(高卓聯),並提供經常性撥款支持其運作。高卓聯作為教資會傑出教學獎同仁的網絡,旨在於教資會界別內外共同為推廣卓越教學發揮持久的影響力;並期望學者藉此網絡建立聯繫,就卓越教學交流意見,以及提供跨學科和跨院校的合作機會。

查看更多

Skip to main content

2022 UGC Teaching Award

1

Call for Application/Nomination

20 Jan 2022 - 29 Apr 2022

2

Selection Stage

03 May 2022 - 25 Sep 2022

3

Award Announcement

26 Sep 2022

2022 UGC Teaching Award Presentation Ceremony

The University Grants Committee (UGC) today (September 26) held the 2022 UGC Teaching Award presentation ceremony to honour academics of the UGC-funded universities for their outstanding teaching performance and achievements, as well as their leadership and scholarly contributions to teaching and learning within and outside their campuses.

2022 UGC Teaching Award Presentation Ceremony

Awardees of 2022 UGC Teaching Award

2022 UGC Teaching Award

(General Faculty Members Category)

Prof. Anthony Man-Cho SO

The Chinese University of Hong Kong


Professor So has proven himself to be a passionate, innovative and caring educator since joining The Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2007. With a firm belief in every student’s unique potential, Professor So is deeply committed to students’ personal growth and youth development. He has been spearheading efforts in curriculum enhancement and building a collaborative learning community among teachers to address students’ needs throughout their journeys as young adults. As a strong proponent of interdisciplinary learning, Professor So is keen on establishing the connection between engineering and the humanities in his teaching. He has been delivering lectures on ethical dilemmas in artificial intelligence in a College-wide general education course since 2019. He has also pioneered a writing component in an undergraduate course for engineering students. Being a dedicated and greatly admired mentor, Professor So’s patient guidance has inspired numerous students to unlock their potential. His endeavours to make a positive impact beyond his institution by promoting STEM education to secondary school students has helped nurture talents for innovation and technology development of our society. Professor So’s continuous pursuit of excellence in learner-centred teaching has earned him substantial recognition and led to multiple accolades from the Faculty and The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Learn More

2022 UGC Teaching Award

(Early Career Faculty Members Category)

Dr. Tulio MAXIMO

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University


Dr Maximo, who was diagnosed with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder in his childhood, was inspired by his learning experience to become the type of teacher that he had never come across and to promote the kind of learning experiences that he had dreamed of. During his four years of teaching, armed with a strong will to help others, Dr Maximo has made significant contributions and achieved many of his personal aspirations. To promote diversity, equity and inclusion, he has integrated more inclusive design concepts into the design programme curriculum and created a new subject known as “Design Meets Disabilities”. Through active collaborations with different non-government organisations, Dr Maximo has engaged his students in community projects and applied an empathic approach to guide them to develop a personal understanding of their users’ needs, thereby designing more suitable products for those with disabilities. In this student-centred learning environment, his students feel comfortable and supported to develop, practise and demonstrate their design and thinking abilities. Dr Maximo’s teaching has made a positive and long-term impact on his students’ learning and personal development. His dedication and commitment to creating an inclusive curriculum and learning experience are exceptional qualities that deserve support and recognitions.

Learn More

2022 UGC Teaching Award

(Collaborative Teams Category)

English Across the Curriculum Team

The English Across the Curriculum Team is led by Dr Julia Chen from The Hong Kong Polytechnic University with Dr Grace Lim (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University), Ms Christy Chan (City University of Hong Kong), Ms Vicky Man (Hong Kong Baptist University), and Dr Elza Tsang (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology) as members. Over the past eight years, the Team has generated multiple innovative and effective strategies for developing students’ academic literacy, including the deployment of multi-modal English Across the Curriculum resources and the mobile app “Capstone Ninja”. The Team has successfully built a culture conducive to student-centred and interdisciplinary collaboration, thereby benefitting English teachers, discipline teachers, and their students in UGC-funded universities, and making a significant positive impact on students’ English ability and learning experiences, as well as participating teachers’ teaching capacity and pedagogical approaches across universities. The Team exemplifies teaching excellence by addressing complex educational challenges with a clear vision and determination to improve students’ language learning. Their proactive transformation of their vision into a purposeful mission offers a strategy for student-centred teaching enhancement. The Team shows a strong commitment to continuous professional development, and is actively engaged in disseminating their work and results through the scholarship of teaching and learning.

Dr Julia CHEN, Dr Grace LIM, Ms Christy CHAN, Ms Vicky MAN and Dr Elza TSANG

Nomination for 2022 UGC Teaching Award

There are three categories under the Award, i.e. (1) General Faculty Members (open to individuals only); (2) Early Career Faculty Members (open to individuals only); and (3) Collaborative Teams. There will be a maximum of three awardees in total, and the Selection Panel reserves the right to give out less than three awards. There will be no more than one award in each category.

 

Each UGC-funded university may submit no more than three nominations in total. There should be no more than one nomination from each university for each Award category. Any nominee should be included in only one of the three Award categories and be included in only one university’s nomination.

The Award is “discipline-neutral”, i.e. universities may nominate individuals/teams from any discipline. All nominees should not have received a UGC Teaching Award as an individual or as the team leader/member of a winning team in the past five years.

 

(1) General Faculty Members 

The nominees should be full-time staff (excluding visiting staff) with teaching duties which focus primarily on UGC-funded programmes (i.e. the majority of the courses in terms of number or hours taught by the nominees are UGC-funded).

 

(2) Early Career Faculty Members

The nominees should have no more than six years of teaching experience in higher education institutions as at the closing date for nomination. The length of teaching experience is counted on a semester basis and can be non-sequential. The nominee should be a full-time staff (excluding visiting staff) with teaching duties which focus primarily on UGC-funded programmes.

 

(3) Collaborative Teams

The nominated teams should be inter-disciplinary (i.e. involving more than one department within a UGC-funded university) and/or interinstitutional (i.e. involving more than one UGC-funded university). A team comprising only members from the same department may also be nominated providing that its pedagogical work possesses strong potential for application beyond the disciplinary and institutional boundaries. A team leader should be designated and the nominated team may comprise a maximum of five members including the team leader. For a team comprising members from more than one UGC-funded university, the nomination will be regarded as submitted by the team leader’s university. Each nominated team must include at least one full-time teaching staff (excluding visiting staff) with teaching duties focusing primarily on UGC-funded programmes. The team may also include other academic and/or support staff (including teaching assistants) employed on a full-time or part-time basis.

All nominees for the Award will be assessed based on the following three criteria -

 

(a) Adoption of learner-centred approaches, ability to engage/inspire/impact on students and demonstration of superior acumen in teaching, which may include a good understanding of pedagogy, understanding how students learn and adopting suitable teaching and assessment approaches that can achieve better student learning outcomes; being able to interact with students and engage them in learning with enthusiasm; inspiring and supporting students, with respect for their diverse learning needs, to build confidence and capability (including critical thinking, analytical skills, values, etc.); and outstanding classroom teaching (in face-to-face, virtual or hybrid settings).

 

(b) Course/programme/curriculum design that can reflect a command of the field, which may include demonstrating up-to-date knowledge of the field of study in the design of the curriculum and student learning resources (e.g., textbooks, e-learning resources) and adopting complementary research-informed teaching practices; and developing appropriate student learning outcomes and adopting innovative approaches to teaching and assessment which can facilitate students’ achievement of the learning outcomes etc., at/within an institutional, inter-institutional or sector-wide level.

 

(c) Past/present achievement(s) and leadership in teaching and potential scholarly contribution to and impact on the development of effective teaching practice within the nominee(s)’ own university and/or in other institutions, which may include demonstrating educational research and innovations in the field of study; and demonstrating leadership and evidence-based impact in the promotion of teaching excellence within and across disciplines and/or universities. In the case of early career faculty nominations, the focus will be on the nominees’ potential of leadership in teaching as well as their past achievements. In the case of team nominations, the contribution of each of the team members, as well as the scale and complexity of impact of the team’s collaborative work on the development of effective teaching practice at/within an institutional, inter-institutional or sector-wide level will also be considered.

 

The three criteria carry no specified weighting. The Selection Panel will consider each nomination on its own merit with reference to the criteria.
 

All nominations will be considered by the Selection Panel, which will comprise:

 

(i) A Chairperson (who shall be a member of UGC/QAC)

(ii) An academic member of UGC/QAC
(iii) A lay member of UGC/QAC
(iv) A former recipient of the UGC Teaching Award
(v) An External International Expert

 

The Panel will consider the nominations based on the nomination package submitted, and shortlist a number of nominated individuals/teams as the finalists to attend an interview. 

 

The awardees and the finalists, i.e. those nominees who are shortlisted for the selection interview but not selected for an award, will be announced at the 2022 Award presentation ceremony and carried in UGC’s press release.

Obligations of the Awardees

 

The awardees will become “ambassadors of good teaching” in their universities as well as the entire UGC sector.  Awardees may be invited to present their teaching philosophies and share experiences at, among other occasions, the Presentation Ceremony of the UGC Teaching Award to be held in September / October 2022, as well as in the video programme to be produced by UGC for publicising awardees’ contribution and achievements.

 

The awardees will also be invited to participate in activities of the Hong Kong Teaching Excellence Alliance (HKTEA), an organisation established with funding support from the UGC with the aim to cultivate a network to enable UGC Teaching Award Fellows to collectively play a sustained role in promoting teaching excellence in and beyond the UGC sector.

 

Universities are invited to submit for each nomination a completed nomination form and other relevant information.  For details, please refer to https://www.ugc.edu.hk/doc/eng/qac/teach/UGC_Teaching_Award_Guidelines.pdf.

 

Hong Kong Teaching Excellence Alliance

Hong Kong Teaching Excellence Alliance

To further emphasise the importance of quality teaching and enhance the impact of the UGC Teaching Award, UGC initiated the Hong Kong Teaching Excellence Alliance (HKTEA) in 2019, and provides recurrent funding to support its operation. HKTEA serves as a network for UGC Teaching Award Fellows, which aims to collectively make a sustained impact in promoting teaching excellence in and beyond the UGC sector. It aspires to allow academics to bond and exchange excellent teaching ideas and provide opportunities for collaboration across disciplines and institutions.

Learn More